The Annual Hogweed Trotters Awards

On Sunday 15th February a glittering array of Hogweed Trotters gathered for their 8th Annual Awards ceremony at Horton Village Hall, coincidently the venue for the Hogweed Hilly Half race later this year on the 22nd March. Club members gathered in their smartest race T-shirts for this glittering occasion

The winners of the 2008 awards were:

2008 Hogweed Trotters

The Hogweed Trotters annual award ceremony at Horton Village Hall is an event to rival the rather more famous Oscars and BAFTAS for the glamour and the stars that attend.

This year Peter Willoughby was named club champion for a string of performances that saw him win many 1st MV60 prizes.

The ladies marathon award winner was Sue Munday who achieved a best at London by 33 minutes, while Dave Wintle, who ran 9 marathons during 2008 all in good times, won the men’s version.

The short race award winners were Teresa Surman for her personal best at The Hogweed Trot and Chris Martin for his first sub 40minutes 10k at the Wyvern Christmas Cracker.

Half Marathon awards went to Sue Leydon for her performance at Stroud and Rob Smith for yet another best at the Burnham event.

Top two performers off road were Ali Ramsey who competed in 22 events and Justin Littlechild who finished 7th in the aptly named Tough Guy.

Ben Bonnick, for his achievement in his first iron man event, was the Triathlon award winner while Club Super Hero went to Mandy Spedding for her work as club coach and some great performances in 2008.

Sue Roberts won the novice award for achieving a personal best, by 18minutes, at the Westonbirt 10k, while Ian Cross, who ran his first marathon at 60, won this years Peter Pan award for runners of a fine vintage.

The Founders Award went to Steve Weeks who organised all the club’s Cotswold Way teams, was stopped by injury from running, but still supported runners on all 10 of the stages.

Two less desirable awards were the Laurence award for exaggerating injuries, which went to Dom Hurford and the Black Dog Award for spectacular disasters, which was won by Mike Green.

Thank you to our Sponsors:

Triathlete of the Year. Ben Bonnick.
Ron White @ The Car Clinic, Kingswood W-U-E 01453 842 239

Ladies XC Ali Ramsey.
Tracy & Julian Shipp. Shipp Engineering, Old Sodbury 01454 313 019

Mens XC Justin Littlechild.
NFC Sports & Social Club, Emersons Green 01179 88 5000

Ladies Half Marathon. Sue Leydon
Persides Ltd 01179 329 099

Mens Half Marathon. Rob Smith OBE
Oakbourne Construction Ltd 01454 325 783

Black Dog. Mike Green
Sodbury Tyre, Exhaust & Valeting Centre in Hatters Lane 01454 324 777

Peter Pan Award. Ian Cross
The Moda Hotel – Chipping Sodbury 01454 312 135

Mens Short Race. Chris Martin
Christine Stephenson. CS Training & Consultancy Services 01637 871 402

Ladies Short Race. Teresa Surnam
Sodbury Pavilion Sports, 27 High Street, Chipping Sodbury 01454 329 560

Super Hero. Mandy Spedding
Ron White of The Car Clinic, Kingswood, W-U-E 01453 842 239

Founders Award. Steve Weeks
The Beaufort Arms Hawkesbury Upton, 01454 238 217

An Award for ‘Laurence’ . Dom Hurford
Milbury’s at the Corner Shop. Estate Agents, Chipping Sodbury 01454 318 338

Ladies Marathon Champion. Suzanne Mundy
Hayley Jackson. HJ Health & Sports Therapies, Yate. 01454 314 460

Mens Marathon Champion. David Wintle
Tsunami Aquatics @ Chepstow Garden Centre 01291 620 720

Novice of the Year. Sue Roberts
The Benidorm Boys

Club Champion. Peter Willoughby
Clutton Cox Solicitors, 15 High St. Chipping Sodbury 01454 312 125

T-Shirt Sponsorship
Sprint Print, 22 Station Road, Yate 01454 325 971

Trotters calendar

December 2023