The 10th Annual Awards of The Hogweed Trotters RRC

The Hogweed Trotters Annual Award ceremony at Horton Village Hall is an event to rival the rather more famous Oscars and BAFTAS for the glamour and the stars that attend.

The Awards were produced by Mr. Bob Bell (speech writing, jokes and interesting facts!). The MC for the afternoon was world reknown public speaker Mr. Anthony Febry, ably supported by Colin Axford (on wine!), Will Gray (opening the envelopes – using a variety of techniques!) and Stephen Chandler (the fantastic presentation!).

Thank you also to Daryl Hanson of Hansonite Entertainments for the music, Keith Miles Catering for the delicious food and Brookers Mobile Bars for providing the liquid refreshments!

The winners of the 2010 awards were:

2010 awards Hogweed Trotters

The winners, nominees and sponsors were as follows:

Triathlete of the Year – Jo Wilson

Nominees – Richard Powell, Ali Ramsey, Justin Littlechild and Jo Wilson
Ron White @ The Car Clinic, Kingswood W-U-E 01453 842 239

Ladies XC Champion – Nicola Paice

Nominees – Pat Curtis, Anne Draper, Sonia Cross and Nicola Paice
Bourn Tube Systems, Tracy & Julian Shipp, Old Sodbury, 01454 313019

Mens XC Champion – Dave Gynn

Nominees – Lee Masters, Dave Parkin, Adrian Pook and Dave Gynn
Sweatshop Bristol Ltd., 0117 950 7788

Ladies Half Marathon – Hayley Brock

Nominees – Rachael Green, Laura Buet, Tracey Skuse and Hayley Brock
The Toll House Clinic, Horse Street, Chipping Sodbury. 01454 322 232

Mens Half Marathon – Shane Toogood

Nominees – Steve Stretton, Dr. Paul Buckley, Ian Freestone and Shane Toogood
Cotswold Vintners, Your local independent Off License in Chipping Sodbury, 01454 325124

Black Dog – Martin Cook

Nominees – John Curtis, Zoe Harley, Paul Chard and Martin Cook
Jan Webb, Osteomyologist, The Gazeley Clinic, High Street, Iron Acton, South Glos, 07773 421 861

Peter Pan Award – Ross Mackenzie

Nominees – Vic Garner, Peter Willoughby, Jenny Macullum and Ross Mackenzie
The Moda House – Chipping Sodbury 01454 312 135

Mens 10k Champion – Dom Hurford

Nominees – John Curtis, Chris Martin, Richard King, Bill Bretherton and Dom Hurford
John Conway at Persides Ltd., Bristol.

Ladies Short Race Award – Jo Wood

Nominees – Julie Doyle, Jo Bayston, Kim Freestone, Sandra Killen and Jo Wood
Kopperz Hair Studio, Charfield, Glos, 01453 844 777

Super Hero – Alan Wilcox

Nominees – Neil Hopkins, Lee Pattison, Dave Wintle and Alan Wilcox
The Squire Inn, Broad Street, Chipping Sodbury, 01454 312 121

Founders Award – Ali King
The Beaufort Arms Hawkesbury Upton, 01454 238 217

An Award for ‘Laurence’ – Kaye Hall

Nominees – Darhyl Davies, Martin Wood, Mark Wolf and Kaye Hall
Powertech Electricial (South West Ltd) 07967 304 942

Ladies Marathon Champion – Kate Pinnington

Nominees – Emma French, Sharon Wilkie, Pat Curtis and Kate Pinnington
Hayley Jackson. HJ Health & Sports Therapies, Yate. 01454 314 460

Mens Marathon Champion – Gary Stretton

Nominees – Pat Hall, Andy May, Geoff Doyle and Gary Stretton
Tsunami Aquatics @ Chepstow Garden Centre 01291 620 720

Novice of the Year – Tracey Whawell

Nominees – Thelma Garner, Derek Newcombe, Cindy Peters and Tracey Whawell
Sodbury Florists, 49 High Street, Chipping Sodbury, 01454 312 547

Club Champion 2009 – Dave Wintle

Nominees – Dom Hurford, Alan Wilcox, Pat Curtis, Peter Willoughby and Dave Wintle
Clutton Cox Solicitors, 15 High St. Chipping Sodbury 01454 312 125

T-Shirt pringing subsidised by:
Sprint Print, 22 Station Road, Yate 01454 325 971

Trotters calendar

May 2024